WHAT IS GLUTEN?
Gluten is an elastic, stretchy protein commonly found in wheat and wheat products. It can also be found in rye, barley, and sometimes oats.
WHAT ARE THE COMMON FOODS THAT CONTAIN GLUTEN? (AVOID THESE)
Flour – white and wheat are the most common
- Cookies, cakes, most baked goods
FOODS NATURALLY FREE OF GLUTEN
Below are examples of foods that are free of gluten in their natural state. Carefully read ingredient list for added ingredients that may contain gluten. Buying fresh whole foods and preparing meals helps ensure food is free of gluten.
Fruits and vegetables
- Fresh fruits and vegetables, including canned, dried, and frozen options
- Potatoes, yams, parsnip, turnips
- 100% juice
- Most dairy products
- Non-dairy substitutes (soy, rice)
- Hard cheeses (Cheddar, Swiss, Parmesan)
- Meats, poultry, fish, shellfish
- Beans and lentils
- Nuts and seeds
- Peanut butter
- White, brown, and wild rice
- Corn meal
- Rice Chex Cereal
- Corn tortilla chips
- Bottled water
- Ready to drink tea
Martin’s Food Store
Gluten free shopping is easy. Look for gluten-free symbol on shelf tags throughout the store. Additional resources can be found on their website www.martinsFoods.com
Always read every label every time. Distributors or ingredient sources can change.
Wheat-free is not necessarily gluten-free. Rye, barley, spelt, or other gluten-containing grains may be hidden in the ingredients. Look for words “gluten-free” on the package to be safe.
Avoid cross-contamination from gluten containing foods
- Avoid buying products from bulk bins
- Use squeeze bottles for condiments
- Label and separate gluten-free foods from group patrol foods
- Buy separate peanut butter and jelly jars for gluten-free users
- Have a separate stick of butter. (bread crumbs can cross contaminate foods)